Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening,

I have been having problems with my last two water changes where a fish died the day after the water change. I have been doing the water changes the same way for the last 6+ months on this tank and this is the first time I have lost fish. Any possible causes/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

One thing I thought of was that I have been using the same bottle of Prime for quite a while. I am not sure if there is an expiry on it. Might that be a possible cause?

Tank size: 75 gallon
Substrate: pool filter sand
# of fish when this first started: 6 (~ 3-4" each)
Canister Filters: Sunsun 404B x 2 (rated at 525 GPH each)
Water Change: 25% every week or two. 25% of the water is removed. The temperature in the tank is measured using NIST certified thermometer. 13mL of Prime conditioner added to the tank. The same thermometer moved to source water and temperature adjusted until it is the same as fish tank. Python system used to pump tap water into the fish tank.

Thanks,
Rob

·
Super Moderator
40,502 Posts
What are your test results for pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

Some water authorities increase chemical treatment in the spring or periodically for a shock of chlorine, chloramine, etc.

Check and see if they did this recently. The extra chemicals can overwhelm the Prime.

·
Registered
641 Posts
DJRansome said:
Some water authorities increase chemical treatment in the spring or periodically for a shock of chlorine, chloramine, etc.
+1. I would always use at least double the recommended dose of Prime for those times your water company does work in your area and they flush the lines with the disinfectant afterward. You can use triple the dose, or more, without any adverse effect on your fish.

Have you noticed your fish displaying any odd behavior in any way right after the water changes?

Prime has a "practically unlimited shelf-life".

·
Registered