Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So wondering if anyone knows how to test if my background is putting chemicals in the water? I put a new fish in the tank and he died over night and my parameters are normal so wondering what could be causing this and how i can resolve it?
I used drylock with cement color, ge silicone 1, styrofoam, i let cure for about 10 days

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
Are there any other fish in the tank? If there are and only the new fish died I wouldn't point the finger at the background. Could be a number of issues based on what information you provided, but they are all speculative at this point until we know more.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well wasnt actually a new fish, it was my guinea pig fish, i accimilated him to the tank and then he died, could be stress but im not paraniod to put any others in there, fish are expensive ya know

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i also prepared a piece of malyasian driftwood boilded 20 minutes and let dry outside, that was added to the tank, i also added some rocks, not sure what kind but they have little sparkles when you look close

·
Registered
4,998 Posts
You will need to test the water to begin to see what might have happened. Often we need to eliminate the obvious before we can see what might happen. If he died sudenly, it may not be PH/ GH/ KH but with concrete in the tank that would be something to check for sure. Then you have to look at ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels to be sure the tank and filter were fully ready for fish. So many causes for sudden fish death that it is just guessing at this point. It could be something as simple as oil or pesticide on the styro used. Did you do any form of bleaching or cleaning before putting it in the tank?

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
Ok. Your guinea pig fish is the first fish in the tank? So there are no other fish in the tank, correct?