Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am in the very beginning stages of setting up a new Mbuna Tank. This is my first time and I had some questions on getting the ball rolling. I did do some research on this site prior to starting however, I just want to make sure that I understand what I have read/learned.

So Far I have decorated the tank, added my substrate(Play Sand), Got water up to temp.(89ish), got my bubblers running, Hooked up my filters and added water.

Here is the general information of my current tank setup:
Filtration: (2) Emperor 400 Power Filters
Air Pump: Whisper 100
Heater: 300w
Lighting: (2) 40w T12
Substrate: Tan Colored Play Sand
Rocks: Assortment of Various River Rocks with lots of Nooks and Crannys for hiding...
Background: Currently Blue w/ Plants Picture
Plants: (1) Fake Plant
Feeding: No Fish Yet.
Other: Fake Driftwood with lots of Holes and hiding places; 28" Bubble Bar and Fake Coral w/ built-in Airstone

Well I got some used filter media from my brothers already established tank and added that to my filter. I also added some ammonia to start the filshless cycle since I haven't yet decided on what fish I am going to add. I also added Proper pH8.2...

I than tested the current tank water parameters with API liquid tests and the results are as follows:
pH: 8.2
kH: 232.7
gH:268.5
Ammonia: 0.50ppm
Nitrite: 0.0ppm
Nitrate: 20ppm

Also, if you want to know, I also tested my water from the tap(well water):
pH: 7.5
kH: 89.5
gH: 179
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 0

I guess I am just looking for feedback or suggestions on what I am doing right or wrong and what to do next.... Thanks in advance for any replies as they are greatly appreciated!! :thumb:

·
Registered
3,549 Posts