Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well i sold some of my glass art today soo i went to homedepot and got everything i needed to do a 3d background woot woot!! haha.. im gonna use dryloc and going for that underwater cave look.... the big arch in the center is gonna have a hole for the fish to pass thru as well as to let light in and create more shadows.. in this pic the left side isnt cut out yet but i do have the other side cut out now... nothing is glued yet just wanted to get it all laid out.. the bottom right and left corners are gonna be lil cave structres and there will be some others in there as well.. theres a lil log in the upper right corner which i thought was a cool turn out.. and the whole center of the BG where theres no rock im gonna cut that out so the back of the tank which im painting black will show so it looks like the enterence to a big cave..thats the look im going for anyway..

this is my first time doing this soo bare with me lol..

sorry for the cell pic.. gonna bust out the real camera and post more tomrrow

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Looking good so far :thumb: Keep us updated.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks! heres some better pix of it.. im gonna shape the rocks and lil caves today i should have more pix later tonight..as well

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks dannigirl!

this question should proly be a no brainer but i should cut the BG into the 3 pieces it needs to be in b4 i put the dryloc right...im guessing it will be a lot harder to cut when sealed

·
Registered
2,583 Posts
You're welcome.
The background is looking really good! Love the idea of the cave- and great job on the rocks; has a natural feel to it. :thumb:
It's your choice- you'll be able to cut the styro either way. Actually, if you seal the background (drylok) it will create a harder surface on the outside and the Styrofoam is less likely to flake off on the outside.