Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, i am new to Cichlids and have just converted my 84lx30wx20h marine tank with 36x24x12 sump. I have set it up for mbuna and have 300kg of limestone, i've just added 26 small Metriaclima sp. Msobo.

My filtration consists of a theiling rollermat for mechanical filtration followed by 30L of siporax stacked in crates and a bag of purigen, return is a 3500lph Fluval sp2. I also have space in my cabinet for a 75l brute bin to run K1 media but i can't decide if it's a good idea. Any thoughts please?

·
Super Moderator
4,129 Posts
Well, it's not like having too much filter media will cause any problems. Only you can spend a lot of money without return. What your fish absolutely need is enough surface area for beneficial bacteria to settle on, and enough aeration to allow those bacteria to turn NH3 to NO2-, and NO2- to NO3-. The surface area you probably already have with the limestone, and with any sump system there is usually more than enough oxygen getting in the water. Mechanical filtration is for you, not for the fish.

Filter media are a product with high profit margins, and there is a lot of bogus advertising. In a nutshell, they all work, so it's an area where you can save a lot of money by buying the cheapest without missing out on anything.

Siporax is good. Ceramic noodles are a classic filter medium with a good surface are. They have been around since the 1970s and are maybe the first biological filter medium to be marketed as such to come on the market. The tiny pores close easily when they get dirty, which means they aren't any better than plastic rings. The following statements from the marketing spiel are just pure baloney:

- Sera Siporax Professional is therefore the only filter material that cleans itself biologically.
- Due to the special pore structure, Sera Siporax Professional develops its own ideal water current.