Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there!

I'm setting up a new (to me) 120 gallon (4 x 2 x 2 footprint) and need filtration advice, please! I go round and round and round!

I plan to stock one oscar, some silver dollars and some other tank mates (maybe a severum and or a firemouth, and some bottom feeders or something like that). My priorities are very high quality filtration, energy efficiency, and something that's very simple to install and maintain - I'm very new to the hobby and not very technologically inclined!

Assuming I'm ok spending up to $500 on filtration (but I don't want to overspend unnecessarily - want to get a good value but quality is very important to me!), I'm debating between one Eheim 2080 (or 2180), 2 Eheim 2217's or 2 Fluval FX5's.

For redundancy (in case one filter fails) and ease of cleaning, I'm leaning towards either 2 2217's or 2 FX5's. The super high gph and media baskets are compelling with the FX5's, but I've read nothing but positive reviews about the Eheim 2217's being easy to maintain and very high quality and long lasting. I've read mixed reviews on the FX5's.

SIGH - round and round I go.

Advice? Experiences? Thanks!

·
Registered
4,998 Posts
No experience on tanks that large but I do like my 2217 very well. One small problem with it was the lack of baskets for the loose media. I solved that with a DIY basket but you can do it simple by putting the media in a loose knit bag. Saves you sorting the stuff piece by piece. My big idea would be not to resort to cheap!! You are correct to buy good quality as I kick myself every time I deal with a cheap canister I bought.

·
Registered
131 Posts
Based on your requirements of energy efficiency and simple install/maintenance, I would suggest the following three options.