Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
The Red Tops in my sig are about 1.5-2" and the Crimson Tide are about 1-1.5"...how often and how big do my water changes need to be? I was thinking 50% a week, but I have no experience in this area. I don't want them to get stunted.

Also, I ground up some pellets for the little ones, how often should I be feeding them daily?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
554 Posts
Go check in the Malawi species forum, there's a discussion with shiny graphs to help with water changes. Seems the main advice is to monitor your water weekly, and keep a chart on which you record nitrate readings and water change percentages. Soon enough that will show you what's going on in terms of nitrates.

Just in case, as a general guideline, keep nitrates below 20 ppm.

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Nina_b!
I will certainly go check that out.

·
Super Moderator
40,491 Posts
Or...in case you are asking how to change water if your goal is to grow fry out quickly, some people do daily water changes. The more water changes, the quicker the growth.

·
Registered
7,422 Posts
Growth (in my experience) is most influenced by these:
(in priority order)

Oxygen (need high O2)
Pollutants (0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, nitrate, other)
Stress (low stress, no crowding, no nipping, optimal pH, GH and KH, etc.)
food (quality and quantity)
genetics (need good genes for the above to really make them shine!)

Keep the nitrates at or under 10ppm, keep the O2 levels high and have a nice large tank and the growth in Malawi cichlids is explosive!

·
Registered
597 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks DJ and Number6!

Just checked the Nitrates, coming in at about 12ppm. Time to do a W/C :)

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
12 aint bad at all. Even 40 isn't bad short term. 20 is preferable of course.