Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, So I've been reading a lot of posts about people trying to stock their 55 gal since I'm trying to stock the same size tank, and I've gotten really confused. My goal for the tank is that I want it to look awesome, I don't care about breeding (infact I would rather not have to deal with it). I'm really new to the whole Cichlid scene, I'm actually new to fishkeeping in general (this is my first tank). I have a couple questions:

1) If I want a fairly low-maintenance tank and don't care about breeding should I just go all males?

2)Someone suggested this for a setup, 1 of each of these and all males:
Benga
Ngara Flametail
Cobue
Ruby Red
Yellow Lab

Would this work?

I want to keep this somewhat simple..something I'm not sure is possible with a cichlid tank :D
I'd like to choose fish that I'd be able to find easily, preferably online since I don't know any breeders and I don't trust Petco.
If anyone has any suggestions I would be more than happy to read them. Thanks!

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
A couple more things I wanted to add...

I do have a 20 gallon tank that can be used to put problem fish into to let them chill out for a bit. I really love yellow labs and the cobue (or any blue colored cichlid compatible with the yellow lab).

·
Super Moderator
40,502 Posts
The problem with all-male is no one can tell you what will work for sure, and it may not be low maintenance to set up or maintain.

If I had to suggest the easiest Malawi tank it would be 3 species of mbuna, 1m:4f of each and 5 Synodontis multipunctatus to handle any survivor fry.

Try yellow labs and Cynotilapia sp. hara. If you want 2 species do 1m:6f of each plus the 5 synos.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·