Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently picked up a used 110 gallon tank that came with two used Emperor 400. I have no experience with these and have questions. I've searched for the manual or instructions but not having much luck. I've read some older posts as well.

Since these were used I wanted to clean them and ensure that everything is working properly and all the filters and media basket being used correctly. Also note that one is the old version with the grey lever and one is the new with no gray lever (I noticed and learned last night).

I've purchased a box of new filters cartridges - a box came with four blue filters with rocks inside of the cartridge. I plan on replacing the old dirty ones.

The new emperor came with 2 gray baskets. The old one did not have these baskets so I've purchase two for the old one. I saw read that these baskets can either be used as mechanical filter (floss) or chemical filter (carbons). What is popular use for these? I assumed carbon and purchased the API Ammo-Carb. Let me tell you, filling these cartridges, closing, and rinsing was a disaster. I must have put too much and the basket didn't close properly... it was just a mess. Little particles of debris keep falling out of the basket. Did I do this all wrong? I ended up doing carbon and floss (floss helped keep the carbon debris in the basket).

Insert Stages
Now, the stages of the inserts starting from the front of the Emperor 400. I have two bio wheels that I've kept wet to maintain the health of bacteria. Is the next slot/stage 2 for the carbon basket? I was confused because the previous user had the blue filter cartridge in there, but I think it should be in the rear slot/first stage. Please clarify.

Maintenance
Obviously the bio-wheels should not be replaced as it carries the bio-bacteria.
The blue filters should be replaced or simply washed how often?