Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Currenty I have a Fluval 405 and just got this Cascade 1000 filter, but after only a week of service the Cascade has gotten quite loud and I am planning on returning it sometime this week and replacing it with an Eheim and just being done with it. So as of now I have a 55 gal tank and am planning on upgrading to at least a 75 if not a 90 in the next year or so. With that said I plan continuing to run the Fluval 405 and either adding the PRO 3 G90 or the G160. The G160 is only like $14 more so was thinking of just getting that but was wondering if it would be too much or simply a waste. Thanks for any opinions as Im not one for making these kinds of decisions if I have had no prior experience with that particular product.

·
Registered
1,657 Posts
I would definately go with the larger one especially if you are upgrading to a bigger tank. Eheim makes good products but have you considered a Fluval FX5? For around the same money you can get 960 gph compared to 330 gph in Eheim. Your 405 and FX5 would be great for a 90g and you could ditch the cascade and spend the money on fish. :D

·
Registered
1,232 Posts
I think you could keep your 405 and add an aquaclear 110 ,that would be more then enough filtration and you could save alot of money,also you could put the 110 on your current setup and move both over in the tank upgrade

·
Registered
242 Posts
To answer your question, for $14 difference, your best bet would be the 160 - no question about it. You will have a top notch filter with great performance and long lasting durability beyond the FX and the AC. With the prefilter system, etc on the pro 3 series you really have a great setup - good choice.

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·