Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just for a little background. I have been keeping African Cichlids for 20 years and Tanganyikan's for about 3-4 now. I have breed a dozen or so Malawi species and 2 species of neolamprologus (brichardi and buesheri). I have a small colony of colony of duboisi with a few T Moorii. I know that a 65 is small for a colony of Duboisi...I kind of fell into them and am now in love. lots of over filtration and water changes. I plan to up grade soon to a 125 in the next 2 months. Looks like I have 2 male and 4 female in the tank now and they recently started to breed. I caught the last pregnant female and stripped her of here full grown babies and have them in a floating breeding trap for about 5 weeks now. In the meantime either her or another female released another batch in the tank and i have 4 in the rocks. They are doing fine and are getting bolder by the day.
Here is my dilemma. I have 2 possibly 3 pregnant mothers in the tank now. Two could be stripped now. Am I better off letting them release them in the tank or stripping. I am hoping to be able to eventually integrate these offspring into the colony. I realize I will loose some but would the colony be stronger if I let nature take its course. thanks for your advise in advance.

·
Registered
639 Posts
I let my bembas spit in the tank, and I don't think I have lost one yet. As long as there is plenty of cover for the fry they should be fine. I think its more rewarding to see them go from tiny fry to joining the colony all on their own. Not to mention its easier for me.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·