Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,841 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have about 25 years of fish keeping experience. I killed many fish as a teen and early in my fish keeping years, but then decided to learn NOT to do that. I usually buy my fish online, and am religious with my weekly water changes, so disease is a rarity for me, but I've learned a lot in the last few weeks. I thought I would share my experience, as a what NOT to do.

I, in my infinite wisdom, decided to go for the "all male tank". The tank I was going to use was home to 22 Tropheus, which I moved in with 16 Petrochromis into my other 120 gallon. I looked at my usual online suppliers, but was impatient. After calling 4 LFS within 2 hours of my house and finding 15 asst types of male Peacocks and Haps in stock, I did the Florida Panhandle tour, and brought them all home 7 hours later.

I figured if I put all the fish in at once, I could treat the whole 120 gallon tank if I saw any disease, and overcrowd the tank to reduce all male aggression, and not quarantine as I went, since all my other tanks are full. I acclimatd the fish to temp and PH and put them in the tank (no LFS water placed in the tank). All was great for 3 days, but they were being a bit aggressive. Then, I started to notice some unusually frequent flashing, and I continued to watch. I didn't see anything like white ick spots, or Red gills, ulcerated fins, etc, and the fish were still eating, so I figured maybe some flukes of some kind, and decided to use some API General Cure (Metro) which I keep for my Tropheus (in case they get bloat, which they never have).