Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Its seems that there is a lot made of cross breeding in the tank environment. Does this not occur naturally in the wild or is there a reason that they dont. Dont get me wrong I understand the reasons for it in aquarium but I just wondererd?

·
Registered
192 Posts
I'm fairly new to cichlids but I believe the female chooses the male. In the tank environment sometimes they have very slim pickings for males of their species so the chances of them choosing one from another species is very high. In the wild the odds of this would be much much lower due to larger territories and many males of their species to choose from.

·
Registered
2,416 Posts
Good question! I know in the wild most of the species we have would never meet. I think people underestimate how big the lake is and how deep it is at some points. The fish stick to certain boundries. I'm looking forward to seeing what others have to say about this.

·
Premium Member
3,013 Posts
I think Ad Konings once made a comment that he has seen only one hybrid individual fish in some 200+ dives in lake Malawi.

If you think about it, if hybridization occurred often in the wild, the gene pools of distinct species would mix to the point of not being able to tell two species apart.

Hybridization has probably occurred many times over the course of the history of cichlids in the lake and given rise to new species, but this is a rare event. It may happen on a larger scale when the water level of the lake changes dramatically and all of a sudden two species that were once separate meet at a newly formed reef. This kind of thing may happen once every few hundred years or so.

·
Registered
7,422 Posts
steve p gardiner, you ask the question using the term crossbreed, not hybrid... interesting. :thumb:

Cross breeding is defined as the mating between two previously distinct groups of a life form.