Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,566 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone has built any of their own tank racks using metal via welding and/or bolts & nuts? All I have seen anyone build is using wood...

I'm a welder and have access to plenty of metal - and have plans to build one or two small racks to hold my two 55's for now. As I get bigger tanks I would like to build racks to support them.

Also, anyone used metal to build any large tanks - or at least for the framing of their large tank?

Any information would be great. :lol:

·
Registered
2,566 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I might add, I will try to get the plans for the racking of my 55's post ASAP - still in the "design phase". I know I would like to use some 2" square tubing (@1/16" thickness) to go the full 48" length and 18" width (want to build the stands wide enough to hold a 75 gallon should I upgrade sometime).

·
Registered
521 Posts
There is a cold formed steel design guide (I can't remember the name) that would give you an idea of the strength for the members. You should be able to find it in a good library, then it is just a matter of doing the math to figure out if it would work. There is also a program called CFS that will figure the strength of just about any shape, but I don't know how much it costs.

Real quick, since you are a welder you would know better than me, but isn't 1/16" (16 Ga.) a bit thin to take a good weld?

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
umm i have been looking into getting angle iron that has those pre drilled holes(4 nuts n bolts) and doing it that way, with a wood shelf in it, very study. *** got a pic of someone elses with a similar design

·
Registered
2,566 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Stickzula said:
Real quick, since you are a welder you would know better than me, but isn't 1/16" (16 Ga.) a bit thin to take a good weld?
I'm just a welder, not an engineer. :lol: