Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so started my DiY canopy today. Like to point out I am a Aviation Electrician, NOT a carpenter.

plan was to use 1 1/4 beams to build a frame, and then use .5x1' beams to to install/ make a lip that my canopy would then sit around as well as on the lip. then using 1x8's to build the walls with a lid hinged that will open up 3/4 of the lid.

I started it, and all went well, until i realized that I couldn't do a full solid bea along the back for the frame, and would have then have to frame it That was going well, or so I had thought, anyways Turns out not perfectly straight wood combined with a 1/4inch short beam ended up with me making it into kindling, regardless I am not deterred and will be starting back up again tomorrow using simpson ties to frame it up.

One thing to note is when u do see the final product you will notice it is rather sturdy, I am military and will be moving 3-4x in the upcoming years at minimum so I am building for the durability.

Thats the tank as is just chilling with some fish in it.

A few to show the idea with the lip and frame.

Thanks guys and stay posted for Tomorrows update.

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
Hey a fellow aero dude :thumb: I had a work related injury some years back, :roll: Eastern was still flying :roll: and while on the mend got a degree in aeronautics, A&P lot of avionics credits with radar endorsement. Fantastic stuff, that.

Watch those teko or simpson strongtie connections or whatever they are called now. they have zinc that can leach out if in contact with water splash. Is that A.C.Q. treated material in the last pic being used on the canopy?

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No, the Treated wood is just part of my saw horses, and the simpson ties are going to be sealed under latex with the trest of the stand, but good looking out on the zinc.

·
Registered
1,048 Posts