Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I hope I'm not repeating questions here, or at least not the common questions such as what type of paint, foam, silicone.

I'm new to this hobby as of a few months back. I had a rough start with an african cichlid tank but I'm getting that under control. Part of this was going out and purchasing a much larger tank. Last night I came home with a 60 gal. I was torn between the 55 and 75 for a long time and only recently learned the 60 exists with more height than the 55 but without the depth which I don't really have the room for.

I said it once before but it bears repeating: Shame on you all for having so much knowledge, tutorials, DIY articles and helpful members. You really know how to hurt a guy's free time and wallet! :p

While getting help with my current setup, I started browsing the rest of the forums and came upon the DIY background articles and the member photos section. They really do stand out! You've even convinced me that this might be something I'm capable of doing myself!

My first issue is with the permanency of such a background. These don't seem like something you can just rip out easily and move on with life if you decide you don't like it or want to change in the future? Or am I wrong about that?

Both of the DIY articles in the library seem to point at doing most of the work inside the tank itself, though the discussions here seem to make me believe I can build the features outside of the tank and then use silicone to affix them after they're finished. Pros/cons between the two schools of thought on this? It seems as if the second method allows for easier removal... just separate it from the back wall where the silicone is holding it.