Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this site, and need some good advice about my discus. I will give you as much current and back ground info possible.

I have been keeping discus now for about 6 months, so fairly new still. I have 2 WC discus and the other 4 are tank bred. They are all in a 90 gallon planted tank where I also use yeast methods for CO2 production. Just over a month ago, I had some bad disease wipe out all 4 of my german blue rams, 1 kribensis, and 1 discus, which I still think was fish TB. I treated them with mardel maracyn plus because one of the rams had shown signs of pop eye. I do weekly wc's of 25-50% using tap water.

For the past month or so it has looked like my discus have been shedding their slime coat, which comes off looking like strands of something hanging from their bodies. The WC discus have never eaten anything I have tried to feed them except bloodworms (NLS discus formula, tetra color, brine shrimp, beef heart, spirulina wafers) since I bought them a few months ago. I have tried using garlic guard and soaking the food in blood worm juice to get them to eat the dry foods, but they still won't accept it. All the discus go through periods where they look really healthy and swim around normally. The tank bred discus all usually eat fine, but I went on vacation for a week (brother fed them from baggies I pre made for him) now the tank bred discus are not eating well, look like they are getting skinnier, and all of them are darker in color. They also have odd twitching of the fins. I have not seen any other signs of illness, and don't know what could be affecting them. Parameters are fine and I have done 2 wc's in the past week, afraid to let the water quality go down.

I use prime water conditioner, and I used to use salt but have been weaning all my tanks from it. I fertilize the tank with seachem flourish excel and comprehensive ferts.