Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pls Share Your Diet for your Tanganyikans. Newbie here.

my current Diet for my Fronts, Lelupi and pulchers:

FBW, MP(minced), Spirulina flakes and TetraDiskus.

any suggestions?

thanks ahead.

pls Share your secrets in Feeding.

More Power and Happy Fish Keeping.

·
Registered
642 Posts
NLS 1mm pellets as a staple. They also get brine shrimp, mysis shrimp, plankton and the baby brichardi have been really doing well on frozen and fresh baby brine shrimp.

·
Registered
3,054 Posts
Used NLS for my fronts (3mm sinking) and use NLS 1mm sinking for most other tangs and use crushed NLS for altolamp fry.

Use Dianichi Ultimate Krill for my adult callo & kilesa.

Powderized krill & mysis plankton mix for callo fry.

·
Registered
223 Posts
I use NLS OPTIMUM Fresh H2O Flakes for now, crushed for the fry. I may switch to NLS for Cichlids, though, when this container is empty. I supplement that with Daphnia, that I raise as a special treat. It seems to work fine, since I've had 3 batches of Fry in the last 2 months ... although Brichardi breed relatively easily, so I doubt it's the food making the difference.

Hope that helps !!!

·
Registered
642 Posts
I should add that I really enjoy watching both the adults and the fry eat the tiny little baby brine shrimp. I don't know if they're of any real nutritional value to the adults since they're so small, but they sure do seem to enjoy them.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Ocean Nutrition Spirulina, Sera Flora, Frozen mysis shrimp
Started a tank to breed cherry shrimp for live food too
And next I'm going to start a white worm culture

Just need a good food for those fish that require a bit more protein

·
Registered
4,581 Posts
I keep it simple- and recommend that folks do the same. It is way too easy to overfeed fish, and nearly impossible to starve them.

I feed NLS, and for tanks with fry I add decapsulated brine shrimp eggs and golden pearl.