Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I have 2 frontosa with other Malawis....I have been feeding them the Omega One pellets for the past 4 months since frontosa don't go up the surface to eat. But recently I realized that they are not really eating, but other tnan that, they do not look sick to me.
Is it the foods? or??? is what i am feeding good for frontosa?

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Correction: Im feeding them Omega One flakes, Not pellets.

·
Registered
3,054 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm glad that they are still surviving..... :lol:
thanks for the info.

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
i'm not trying to pick a fight...but here i go:
frontosa will eat off the surface. but as they mature, they will prefer to stalk their intended prey before striking. because it takes time for them to override their predatory instinct, to avoid what they perceive as a danger area (aka, in this example, the surface), frontosa will strike and run if impressed to take food off the surface. not only will malawi (or any other mid water feeder) interrupt this process, and stall the frontosa from feeding, but they will likely hog anything that you may try to sink to them.
bottom line is...your fish are incompatible, and as they mature, their differences will become more and more obvious. you can either switch feed, and risk bloating your malawi, or you can hollow belly your fronts. IMHO.

·
Registered
97 Posts
i had the same problem with my wc frontosa they would not come to the top to eat until i tried freezed dried blood worms they love it and fly to the top of the tank now

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
lloyd said:
i'm not trying to pick a fight...but here i go: