Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to all, I am brand new to the forum and I am looking for opinions, experiences, and suggestions. I'm also quite new to the hobby but have did lots of research and reading and still going. I immediately fell in love with the Lake Malawi Cichlids specifically Yellow Labs. So with saying that I'm really interested in stocking my 55gal tank with Yellow Labs and Demasoni's I love the colors and how they blend in, but i want to know the if this mixture is a good one and how I should set it up any all suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Also is it ok to use regular rocks from outside as the decor or are the rocks sold in average LFS specifically for the fish and their habitats?? I just want to be extra careful so please let class begin and thanks ahead of time.

·
Registered
158 Posts
I'm also new to cichlids... and loved the yellow labs and demasoni as well... Putting those two in a 55 was suggested to me when I first posted here. I haven't gotten mine yet, but that's what's going in my 55 gallon - I just bought the black moon sand yesterday and will hopefully have water in the tank to cycle later this week... I just need to find a place where I can buy 15 demasoni at once... probably on line.

I also plan to put Acei with them eventally as well

·
Registered
149 Posts
I have had a time with demasoni, bought 14 months ago, when I was down to 4 bought ten more, had 1 fry showup for a day then he disapeared and now we have two left. No disease and am pretty sure it wasent our lab juvies. I would go with another blue fish.

·
Registered
604 Posts