Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, New to the forum so sorry if I do anything wrong, but about 5 months ago when I was first getting into cichlids I was sold a "deepwater rainbow hap" by a chain LFS. I was unable to find any info online or any lookalikes so I got a second opinion from another LFS owner who said he was probably a female red empress. I am new to the whole concept of venting and have tried my best and I am somewhat sure the fish is indeed a female (tho I have attached pictures if y'all want to verify). Recently I've added a few males from a grow-out tank including a definite male red empress and recently the "deepwater rainbow" has been beating up on him pretty bad. Since I found and removed a female about a week ago (just prior to introducing the new fish) aggression has been mostly nominal except for the pecking order shift which I've expected. However, the suspected red emp/deepwater rainbow is still beating up on the male after everything has settled. I did a quick google search prior to posting and could not find anything about females being aggressive towards males, only the male on female aggression. I have also heard of certain species being uber-competitive with each other inside a tank (while ignoring other species) but I was under the assumption that red empresses were pretty docile. I feed twice daily, everyone eats and other than that one female last week, everything else seems normal except for this one fish beating on the red emp. The fish is also not usually an "alpha" as that title belongs to another fish and it lives in a 75 with a pair of venustus, a livingstonii, a Fusco, a Hai Reef, a turquoise jewel,a chilotilapia rhoadesii, a hybrid from Petsmart, an oblique, a yellow lab and a plecco (understocking is temporary while the rest of my fish grow up in a separate 55). Did I end up with some weird aggressive hybrid/female or did I end up with some dull red empress? I've at