Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,
Im new to Clichid keeping and I just recently got a male convict. He is very mellow and shy but thats to be expected from a new fish. I am trying to figure out what I can put inside my 20 gal long tank with him. I was thinking about getting a female also but have heard that they are extremely aggressive especially when spawning and I dont want them to kill the others. So I've been looking at a variety of other cichlid species nd also some oscars not sure which way I want to go yet so maybe you guys could give me a hand. Im eager to hear your suggestions!!! :popcorn:

·
Registered
190 Posts
g'morning

I can't really offer much other than Oscars grow way to big and way to fast to be in a 20 for more than a month max by himself ... i know from experience lol
As far as convicts, all I have heard is that they breed like aqua bunnies
but there are a lot of extremely knowledgable, experienced, and helpful ppl on here so your def in the right place
thats really all I have to offer other than a welcome

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Convicts can get to 6" so he may be the only thing you can keep. Do you plan on upgrading to a larger tank?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Flippercon said:
Convicts can get to 6" so he may be the only thing you can keep. Do you plan on upgrading to a larger tank?
Yes I am aware that in order to keep other species of cichlid I would have to upgrade my tank to a much larger size. In terms of other fish outside the cichlid species I would like to integrate into the aquarium, I was told the fish should be equally aggressive and equal in size to prevent the Convict from bullying it or eating it. If you kno any other species of fish that would do well with my convict could you please enlighten me. :fish:

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Rell30 said:
Flippercon said: