Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Read Only
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK,

So I am new to the aquarium world. I have a 75 gallon tank running an FX5 filter with two trays of biomax and one tray of charcoal (which I'm planning on changing to bio-balls here shortly). I cycled my tank with Dr. Tim's One and Only. So last last night I got my fish, 6 DOA (4 Demonsani, 1 yellow lab and 1 socolofi), I purchased the fish from Cichlid Express/Daytona Beach Aquarium.

So I get home from the airport with my fish, put the bags of fish in the tank to get them acclimated. After about an hour, I put the fish in (just the fish, no water from the bags). In hindsight I should have inspected each fish before putting them in the tank. After getting all the fish in the tank, I noticed one of the yellow tailed acei with what looks to be one swollen eye, which was a little cloudy. Funny, he came right up to the front of the tank and showed me the one eye, then turned around to show me the other, he did this several times like he was trying to tell me something.

Anyway, I texted a friend of mine and asked if that was normal, and she said it sounded like pop-eye. I wish my phone/camera was charged so I could have taken a picture. He seems to be doing ok, though most of the Acei are hiding in the rocks, while the rest are swimming around, so I can't get a good picture now. Is it possible that this was just an injury from transport or should I be worried about a bacterial infection.

As of last night:
PH - 8.2
Ammonia - 0
Nitrites - 0
Nitrates - 30

Friend suggested adding QuICK Cure to the tank with the charcoal filter still in. Said she always does that when adding new fish to the tank. Don't know if that's a good suggestion or not, but I did do it.

Is there anything else I should do? I don't have a hospital tank to put this guy in. What should I treat the tank with just to be sure nobody else gets it?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,111 Posts