Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there let me thank you in advance for any help that you can offer me. I am very new to fish keeping and would like to do things right. I have inherited my husbands old tank that I am going to tansform hopefully into a Mbuna paradise. The tank is 60"x18"x23.5" and he told me that it holds 120 gallons. It has an oak stand and cover that I plan on using. The only other thing that I want to use are the two heaters that he already had. I do want to install a diy background, I have been looking at all of yours and I want one!!! I also think that I am going to use pool filter sand for the floor with some eggcrate just incase I add in some rocks.

So after all of that let me get to my first question, I have about 300 dollars to spend on a filter and I want some ideas from you guys. I have considered the Fluval FX5 and then also adding in a UGJ system that runs off of a submersible pump. I have also considered going with a diy wet/dry filter and also UGJ. The last setup I was thinking of was two smaller canister filters one at each end. What do you guys think???

My second question would then have to be how many fish would you stock in a tank this size? I am planning on lots of caves in my diy wall so they have thier own spaces. I am also planning on stocking smaller fish, those that might only reach 4".

Any tips that you can lend are much appreciated thank you!!! :fish:

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
CONGRATS!
IMO the FX5 would be a good single canister to use and fits into your budget. However the benifit of two smaller canisters is that you can alternate cleanings and never loose the majority of bacteria to keep you cycle consistant. With a tank that size a W/D sump is definately a possibility however, unless you go the DIY route I doubt you can fit that into your $300 limit with the Sump, Overflows, bio media, pump, and plumbing needed.
HTH!

·
Registered
18,306 Posts