Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone,Im new in fish keeping and I would like to ask one question(sorry for bad spelling).One of my cichlid has sunk in belly and I went today to a pet store and I bought JBL Nemol against parasites.They adviced me to do 30% of water change,removing both of my carbon catridges and put that medicine in.What happen after few hours is that all fish started to act differently(not swimming as happy as before),so I tested water my ammonia wet up to 1.My question was, what do you think why this happend?rest of the water parameters are perfect(I use API master kit).What I should do now?Thank was cicled since end of march and for abouth one month amonia was 0.Please halp me if you can.tnx[/quote]

·
Registered
623 Posts
When treating tanks for parasites and removing the carbon sometimes theres ammonia, and nitrite spikes, due to the bio overload. Basically your taking out bacteria that convert ammonia and nitrite so for a few days you may have a little spike. As long as its low levels it should be safe while treating the fish. Im in the same process. *** just been monitoring the fish, and also use plants to help soak up some of this waste.

Make sure to keep your carbon cartridges wet so that the bacteria colony doesnt die off. I put mine in a small rubbermaid tote with an air bubbler.

·
Registered
152 Posts
If your ammonia is high, it's generally from overfeeding or insufficient or unestablished filtration. However, having a sunken belly, in my experience, is from under eating. This could either be from not feeding enough, or having other fish that are more aggressive getting to the food, preventing the other fish from getting enough. So, that being said, it's hard to say with the amount of info you gave.