Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings ......Again I am a newbie but learning quite fast with the Cichlid hobby. I have a 55 gal cycled tank with 15 Peacocks all doing quite well. I am on schedule with water changes, testing, maintenance procedures, etc. I have twin Emperor 400, OTB filters. At the suggestion of the pet shop owner where I purchased my setup he recommended the stock canister insert first in the posterior slot and charcoal pellets/carbon packed in the front sleeve compartment. I've been using this setup for about 6 weeks. Since that time I have read a plethora of suggestions in swapping both sleeves and placing just about everything from soup to nuts. I have placed a sponge filter on the end of the intake tube which apparently has not impeded the water flow. I feel in my heart that I should change the filters in the OTB in some way but I'm really confused and need some good advice! Thanks so much.... Dr Bob

·
Registered
449 Posts
I don't use charcoal at all; it basically removes chlorine and other unwanted chemicals (which you should have removed already) and removes foul odors which a healthy tank should not have. I use extra biomedia where the charcoal would be, but I run canister filters which don't use inserts. It is good for removing medications which have run their course and are no longer needed.

·
Registered
136 Posts
The manufacturer's cartridge filters for the Emperor 400 already have carbon in them. You do not need more carbon than you are getting from them already. Since you are running 2 Emperor 400s, you have way more carbon than a normal tank of that size would need just from the cartridges. Adding even more would be unnecessarily expensive and without benefit.