Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I've been putting off the inevitable...

My 90 gallon stock is in my sig, I've been running it for about 2 months and my stock has hit its limit (once the oscar gets bigger one of the schools will be going back).

I'm currently running an AQ110 and an AQ50, and have wanted to get a canister filter to round out my filtration.

I'm torn between a few brands and models, mind telling me your experiences with them?

1. Eheim 2217/2215

2. Cascade 1000

3. Rena xp3/xp2

Ps - this canister would be in addition to the 2 HOBs that are running...

·
Registered
249 Posts
I'd go with the XP3. I have an XP2 and love it. It is easy to set up and maintain. It also comes with enough elbos and stuff to set up the spray bar however you like. I have an Eheim Pro II 2026 and like it too, but the spra bar is all one piece, leaving fewer options.

·
Registered
4,998 Posts
Man, did you hit my hot button!
1. Ehiem 2217 -I use it for a pretty heavy stocked (at present) African cichlid 75 tank and love it. It lasts long and works good. Works a long time between filter cleanings. Should do a 90 with two HOB fine.