Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK guys I have never used canister filters before only HOB and undergravel and I feel it may be time to catch up to times as they seem to be far superior to an Whisper or Penguin I currently own. My father does have a Cascade 1000 on his 125gallon and cleans it once or twice a year so that is the only canister I have to compare anything too.

My question is WHICH ONE?? I was browsing amazon some AQUA-TOP ones I would be interested in the AQUA=TOP CF400
http://www.americanaquariumproducts.com ... ilter.html
http://www.truaqua.com/aquatop-canister ... 400uv.html

Has anyone ever used these? I cant find any official reviews but also can not find a single negative consumer review. I know you get what you pay for but sometimes you also pay for a name and get the same thing cheaper in a smaller less known package.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Never used this brand but like you mentioned you get what you pay for. If your doing cichlids one cascade 1000 is nowhere near where it needs to be on a 125. I own one and it is half my filtration on a 55. It's kinda like getting a tattoo, don't go the cheap route you might regret it later. What size tank are you looking for a canister for? What are you keeping in the tank?

·
Registered
705 Posts
im with flipper. the cascade alone doesnt turn over the water nearly enough. it is however a quality canister filter with very easy to change out media. i just load mine up with filter floss (pillow stuffing) and bio media. works great and i only clean once every cpl months. (once or twice a year is far too little) either way canisters r the way to go and cheap korean knockoffs are to be avoided... just my two cents gl in your choice

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·