Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,
I am new to the cichlid world and new to this site, so thank you in advance for whatever help anyone offers to me.

I have a show tank with all males, including one Calvus Black Congo. I have had the majority of the fish for several months and just picked up the Calvus with a few others.

When I do a water change, he and only he sinks to the bottom of the tank and starts gasping. No other fish are affected this way.

The water I am using is from the tap, but I make sure the temp of it is the same as what is in the tank. I know he likes the water cleanest of all my fish, but I find myself not changing water as often, so as not to have him negatively affected like this.

Please help! Thank you.

·
Registered
25 Posts
How much water do you change at a time? Altos can be sensitive to large water changes. I have heard of problems with larger than fifty percent of the water being changed. I have had problems in grow out tanks for calvus when I changed more than that.

·
Registered
656 Posts
In my tanks with alto's (40g and 55g) I change 10-15 gallons about twice a week. My gold head comps don't seem to mind larger changes (50%) but the calvus don't like it. I fill my buckets with water a little warmer than the tank, add the chlorine remover to the buckets, and check them with a digital meat thermometer. When the water has cooled to 81 degrees I add it to the tank(pour slowly) The tank stays at exactly 79 degrees through the whole process, and after a couple weeks the calvus didn't even hide while I do it.

If it is not temp. changes stressing your fish, it is probably a change in hardness, calvus can be very sensitive to this, and again, change smaller amounts , more often.

·
Super Moderator
40,523 Posts
shellies215 said: