Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to the forum, I am an oscar and EBJD lover. i curently have 6 oscars, 1 EBJD, 1 jack dempsey, 2 fire eels, 1 bicher, and 1 pleco. My house is full of tanks right now...lol :wink:

Most of my oscars are rescue missions, like Gizmo, who was going to be flushed down the toilet when his old owners were going to move and couldn't take him.( I saved him 1 hour before his potential doom). :x

My tanks are very stocked, so I am forever doing water changes, but I just can't see theese fish have a septic system for a graveyard!

As soon as the snow is gone, we plan to start our 5000 gallon tank. That will lift the weight off my shoulders...lol

I plan on rescuing Oscars and other cichlids that people are constantly trying to drop off at the lfs because the people didn't realize that they got that big. The lfs told me that they are always turning down large cichlids especially oscars because they don't have large enough tanks to house them. They said that the longest time they went without someone showing up for that reason was 1 month!

So, I guess the only way to think posative about this is that it will be cheap or free to stock my new tank when it's ready, and the bonus would be that I'm helping homless cichlids. :)

·
Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When we built our home, we built it so we could add on, we started smaller, so we could just move in earlier. Now we are going to sdd on a larger living room. we are going to build it on the far side of that room so we can also see it in the dining room. I'm thinking that it would be good next to an exterior wall so we can ventalate it, because there is going to be a lot of moisture.

I wanted to decorate that room like a jungle with big windows and large plants. We want to put rock work on the livingroom side with a plexigalss window about 4x12' .