Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this has been discussed a lot as to how brasiliensis are great parents, pair up easy but also cat get viscious with others. All this being spot on in my case. I have a new wierd situaition that i am not aware off. I am wondering if some experts in the forum and hel me out as i am new to dealing with any kind of breeding.

The mom (i think, the slightly bigger one) has suddenly started guarding the new bord **** all by herself. the babies came out about 10 days ago and are doing well. I feed them brine shimp (hatched) babies. for some reason today when i came home the male or female i am not sure was missing in the tankt and i noticed it was hiding in a corner.

2 questions
1. Can i leave the mom or dad i dont even know but lets say the one thats with the babies now, alone with the babies until the **** grow big??
2. If i move the hidingin (male or femaile) out of the tank to my community tank will they pair again when i move the second one also??

Appreciate all the help. this whole situation has been exciting but i also feel i have made a mess

P.S: this breeding happening while i was in the process of upgrading my community tank from a 46g to a 90g. so i moved all the other fishes such as angels and rainbows and left the babies and parents in the 46g tank

·
Premium Member
4,695 Posts
Oh my... looks like the male has taken over custody of the babies. And, in a smaller tank like the 46G, the female is now in serious danger of getting mauled/killed by the male in there. For her safety, I would pull her out as soon as possible. The male will have no problem in taking care of the babies.