Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am brand new to the hobby, my main tank has been set up for a month now. Before I got a single fish, I watched a ton of youtube videos. I know what cycling is, why we do it etc. However... I have had some losses as of late. I don't understand what I am doing wrong. My most beautiful male just died today. He looked PERFECT. Amazing color, great shape, showed zero signs of stress or sickness. I check their temps before bed every night, feed them in the AM and evening, tonight when I go to check them out, he is belly up.

I live in Chicagoland area, I check my water once or twice a week. I do water changes about every week or so. (20% or less) I have rocks and Java fern in the tank. I am using a hang on back, led lights, and air stones to help move water around. I also got an extra sponge over the input of my HoB unit to add filtration.
Temps are 81, I use Seachem safe, Stability, and Cichlid salt.

The only thing I can think that I am doing wrong is overfeeding.

Not sure if this helps, but when my fish passed he lost all color. Last water change was 2 or 3 days ago.

·
Registered
89 Posts
I'm no expert and fairly new as well but to save you time the people here are extremely helpful but they'll want to know what your levels are (pH, ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates) that way they can better help you. What size tank, how many fish, what breed of fish?

·
Super Moderator
40,492 Posts
Yes, please provide test results, and how did you cycle the tank?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·