Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone and Happy New Year! I've been keeping two Bolivian Rams in my community tank for about six or seven months, they got on well at first but after a while relations broke down a little and the two are in seperate tanks chilling out for a while. The tank is due to be rescaped, and I intend to introduce another two rams to hopefully spread the aggression and who knows spread some love but first I am having trouble identifying the sex of the existing fish. Wonder if the experts here can help?

Pretty sure the first exeptionally bolshy one is male. But what about the second one? I bought hoping it was female but I've never been quite sure. This ram is harder to photograph as it tends to shy away more than the other who comes out to show off when ever someone is near the tank. The vent looks like it might have a bit more to it than the other fish.

Any help appreciated! (photos to follow)

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you very much for the confirmation. I was in the LFS yesterday looking at what I assume are young ones (they're all about half the size of my current pair) and they're so tricky to determine what is what. I guess it is a case of make the best guess you can and then keep your fingers crossed!

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Just thought I'd update this post to say the female ram's vent is very apparent, over the past couple of days it has been growing in size daily.

The two fish above have been cleaning stones and the male has been busy making a depression in the gravel so I guess all indications are they're preparing to spawn.