Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new at keeping African Chiclids. I have been doing a good job of changing the water 20% daily after I had a mishap with a wee bit of Dawn in the water. Thankfully I saved all the remainder of my fish once I saw them dying and figured out what happened. I fiercely cleaned the tank daily and also cleaned out the Fluval FX4 filters for my 75 gallon tank using aquarium water. One of my fish has a area behind his head before the fin where it looks like someone bit him. I was advised to use Melafix for a week removing the carbon and then do a 50% water change. I used all the guidelines for changing water and the parameters have always been good. However after this 50% change and adding in the proper additives including bacteria, the tank is in full bloom. Did I do something wrong? Will this hurt my fish? Or will it gradually clear with no harm to the fish? And can I continue with the 20% water changes every other day or so? Thanks for any feedback!

·
Super Moderator
40,492 Posts
It will eventually clear and it won't hurt your fish.

Lets start with the basics. What are your test results for pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

How did you cycle your tank?

What color is the bloom...gray/white or green?

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
DJRansome said:
It will eventually clear and it won't hurt your first.

Lets start with the basics. What are your test results for pH, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate?

How did you cycle your tank?

What color is the bloom...gray/white or green?
I am going to retest things to give you the numbers today. Until I finish that ..here are the numbers that the tank has been running until today (I did not test yesterday)m
ph 8.2 (today my meter says 8.1)
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
I am also including the pic of my tank that I just took. I will get back with you shortly.

Attachments

·
Registered
278 Posts