Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey!

I'm new to cichlids. I have a few 3 Kenyi's and 2 Demasoni's in my tank... My Kenyi's bred 4 little kenyi's!!!

Here is now a question:

I saw one of my Demasoni's (guess to be female) not eating anymore. I panicked cause the first thought was Bloat... I removed her from the main tank to a very small hospital tank and treated her with Sera Baktopur Direct and Epsom salt... (Can't find clout)

She used to hide when ever I came near the tank but I think its because of the fact that I moved her... She's not really hiding anymore but she is also not eating. Its been almost a week now. I aslo don't see any swelling so here is what I want to know:

Could she be holding?

She is still very small... she looks like she's chewing a lot and sometimes when she's active looks like she wants to spit or something?

So question
1) Could she be holding and not have bloat?
2) At what size will she be able to hold
3) How long from not eating will u be able to see that she is indeed holding
4) Will the Baktopur or Epsom salt kill any eggs?

In the picture, the demasoni is not dead :)
She is sitting on the bottom but does swim around sometimes... She likes hiding her head in the rocks.

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
1,111 Posts
Doesnt look to be holding in this pic, but that doesn't mean she isnt or it is automatically bloat. There are a lot of things that could be going on here.

When you said that your Kenyi just had 4 little ones, that is making me wonder if your Kenyi are possibly bullying you Dem into an illness. Kenyi can be little terrors and relentlessly chase others, especially another blue barred fish.

How long has this fish been in the tank?

What size tank is it?

What are you water parameters? PH Nitrite, Ammonia, Nitrate......?

Have you seen any thin white poop?