Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sup everyone, does this look like a Black Congo Calvus to you guys?? I received the calvus on Friday, the seller told me it was a Black calvus congo... what do you guys think??? also its a wild caught..

·
Registered
3,054 Posts
I am tempted to say no but it can be difficult when they are young. The pictured fish has small pearls and is very light in color. I have wild calvus black Congo white pearl and they are much darker that the one pictured (granted I can't be difinative). The bcwp have larger pearls (actually the largest pearls of any calvus and they usually will have yellow on the forehead). I'll post a few pics of the bcwp (wild adult and F1 fry). I don't think yours is bcwp?

·
Registered
150 Posts
Hi there,
I am new to the cichlid world and new to this site, so thank you in advance for whatever help anyone offers to me.

I have a show tank with all males, including one Calvus Black Congo. I have had the majority of the fish for several months and just picked up the Calvus with a few others.

When I do a water change, he and only he sinks to the bottom of the tank and starts gasping. No other fish are affected this way.

The water I am using is from the tap, but I make sure the temp of it is the same as what is in the tank. I know he likes the water cleanest of all my fish, but I find myself not changing water as often, so as not to have him negatively affected like this.

Please help! Thank you.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
**** yours look way better then the one I have. Its a black calvus congo. How big are your wild caught? The one I have is at least 2.5 inch. Should I tell the seller mines doesn't look like a black congo? Lol

·
Super Moderator
40,491 Posts
I bought black calvus (inkfin) and could have sworn for months a white one got mixed in. Now they are all black as sin.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Jesseschu said:
Hi there,