Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been running a single FX5 on my 150gal high tank for the last six months now, and I have two quick questions I'm hoping to get cleared up.

First. The instructions for the filter media mentions 'rinsing' my biomax media in aquarium water monthly. I am assuming this means actually rinsing them inside (by dipping them in some manner) my aquarium, and then putting them back inside my media baskets? Or are they infering that I actually rinse the media in a bucket of aquarium water that gets thrown away after? If the former of the two is true, would it be better practice to 'dip' the media in the tank for 'rinsing'? Or would it be better to fill a bucket with tank water, rinise the media in the bucket, and then pour that water back inside my tank before replacing the media inside my FX5 baskets? Basicly my conflict with this concept is my assumption that I am essentially destroying my benifitial bacteria.

Second. I'm not sure I understand the concept of essentially throwing away my biological filtration media every six months. Espeically given the fact that I need to stager this change, because then I come to the dilemma of how much to exchange at a time, and in what manner. My question to anyone who can help is, should I really be replacing my BioMax media every six months? To the best of my understanding via the instructions, the correct way to replace this media every six months (if indeed I need to), is to 'rinse' it like I've mentioned above, and then discarding the portion of my media I intend to replace with new media. Essentially doing this twice given my setup (bottom two baskets with biomax, top basket with prefilter).

I would love any feedback from anyone who could help me better understand Fluval's intentions or just simply the best course of action. I've provided a copy of the BioMax instructions below if it helps. Thank you :)

Fluval Filter Media said: