Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong place. I didn't see a "right" place to put his one.

I will be attending the GCCA Cichlid Classic and auction on Sunday 5/22.

I intend to bring a mix of mbuna (yellow labs, yellow tail acei, and maingano). I know to double bag, but this is my first time as a seller and want to get it right and not put a buyer in a bad situation due to my inexperience. I'd love to hear any tips people have.

·
Registered
705 Posts
lots of air. freshly dechlorinated water would be prefered. (due to the long trip and moving around) tape up the corners of the bags so that fish wont get stuck in them. properly insulate whatever canister you plan to use. try to limit the amount of shaking and moving in general, post bagging. try to isolate smaller numbers or even 1 fish per bag depending on A. size of the bags and B. size of the fish. also if you can pump pure oxygen versus regularly pumped air that will help. hope it all works out feel free to reply if this is too confusing.

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
Don't feed your fish for several days before the auction. Their systems will get cleaned out and there will be less pollution in the bags.

Bag buddies are nice...just a little extra oxygen and a calming agent to avoid stress.

Bag aggressive fish and/or males separately.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys! Keep them coming.

Hadn't thought of taping the corners, but i t makes good sense. Same with not feeding for a few days.

I figured to bag the male mainganos separately, but was thinking of bagging say 5 labs together as they are 2" juvies. If I have 6 I'll split into 2 bags of 3 (same with acei).

If I can find some bag buddies I'll grab some. Not sure if they are available around here, but I'll ask the LFS.