Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought these three fellows (um, at least one is a gal actually - we have babies) about two years ago. I was told by the guy at Petco that they are South American cichlids, but the pictures I've seen look nothing like these. I think they look like Manguense cichlids (Jaguar cichlids) but they are only maybe 4 inches end to end.

Any ideas? Also, I think the dark one is the female as she was vigorously protecting the free swimmers. Is that correct?

Thanks - I am new to this, but really like the cichlids and want to learn what I can.

·
Registered
912 Posts
They do appear to be managuensis. Most chain store employees don't know enough to differentiate between CA and SA Cichlids.

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
Definitely jags, what size tank are they in?

·
Registered
1,345 Posts
Hi jrsygal,

Congratulations on the babies. Although I have not personally kept these cichlids I am fairly certain they are Parachromis managuensis from Central America. However, it is interesting that after two years they are only 4 inches as these cichlids can reach 18+ inches. What size tank are they in? How often and what do you feed them?

A cichlid's growth can be stunted my small tank size, poor water quality, or under feeding when young. I am not saying this is the issue for you. In reality if you tank is currently working out then it might be ok. I have a small tank with small yellow labs in it. I tried to pick the smallest male for breeding, but it is likely they could be stunted.

Thank you for sharing the pictures, the dark one looks great.

Thanks,
Matt

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·