Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a fully-cycled, 10-gallon tank with a few live plants that I have been maintaining for about 8 months. The tank is set up in a room that gets a lot of natural light, though the tank itself is not in direct sunlight. I have one 2" rainbow shark that I am growing out before I put him in the main tank. I change the htb filter and do a 50% water change 1x/month and the water parameters stay about as close to perfect as I can get with this schedule.

Everything is perfect in the tank, except for the live plants. The algae grows fast and I scrape it off the glass weekly, but the plants haven't grown at all since I put them in the tank 8 months ago. I have had these same types of plants in the past with similar water parameters and they flourished before.

I want to give the plants a liquid fertilizer that's supposedly aquarium safe, but I really don't want to risk messing up the the biology of the tank either.

Any and all comments, either for or against using plant fertilizer in aquariums would be greatly appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
40,481 Posts
If you don't exceed the recommended dosage and it is a fertilizer designed for aquariums you should be fine.

·
Registered
7,422 Posts
If plants arent growing then all you would be doing with the plant fuel is growing algae. My bet is that you don't have enough lighting on the tank.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm thinking Number6 is probably right that adding fertilizer will probably increase the growth of algae, which I definitely do not need.

I was always under the impression that the more light you have, the more algae will grow. The algae can be seen on the glass within 3 or 4 days after I have cleaned it all off, so I don't think there is a lack of light. However, I almost never use the hood light, so maybe leaving that on during the day would help?

·
Registered
1,314 Posts