Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am a total newbie at caring for fry. I have a flame tail female that had spit out her eggs in one of my breeding nets! Three quarters of the egg is clear and the rest is an orange colour. Can someone tell me what this means. And the only problem is that I don't have a second tank to put them in or an egg tumbler. In the (fry net) there is plenty of current to gently roll them around is that ok???????

Appologize if this is a stupid question
PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT

·
Registered
18,306 Posts
The main problem I see with this is that the other fish will probably manage to get the eggs out of the breeder net. I don't know how they do it, but fry disappear through the net all the time when people try this.

If you put something under it, you'd probably restrict your current and defeat the purpose of what you're trying to do.

Did you give the female time to pick the eggs back up?

Sounds like they are in the stage of morphing from egg to fry.

And, there are no stupid questions! :thumb:

Kim

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What I did was I put an icing tube (used to put the icing on a cake) and i cut off the bottom and a little off the top and I submerged it into the fry net and put an airstone so that the eggs will tumle and move around then i put the eggs into it and they are tumbling fine now. How many days will it take for them to hatch???

·
Registered
493 Posts
Im not an expert but I would like to say something only because I recently had a batch of eggs
hatch outside the mother.