Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi petrochromis owners, I'm relatively new to petrochromis and never had a spawn occur yet. Any sure fire way(s) to get these guys to spawn? I've tried heavy feedings, water changes and patience etc. But is there a prescribed way? Please let me know what works for you, thanks.

·
Registered
58 Posts
The only thing I have heard that seems consistent for them to spawn is a BIG tank. That seems to come up a lot. Sounds like to me a 250G tank seems to be the minimum size I have heard of successful spawns taking place in. It does happen in smaller tanks to be sure, but BIGGER is better when you are talking these fish. Probably because they are a larger fish of course. :D

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hello I currently own 6 WC (2M/4F) orthognatus tricolor mvuna about 4-5" in a 90 gallon with trophs. Agression is minimal (for petros) and they eat quite a lot 2/day. I've had them for about 6 months and no breeding yet.

I can't keep a 250 gallon, the largest I have is a 6 foot (135 gallon) but full of large frontosas so don't dare mix them.

Any ideas??

·
Registered
58 Posts