Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys

I have 6 cyno. axelrodi that i thought i could switch from my 55 gal, where they breed a lot. So my thinking was that putting them into a 20 gallon tank they wold breed, be less likely to eat their fry, and evolve into a specific tank.

So ppl have told me no cynotilapia could strive in such a small tank. So then I'm thinking about leaving them into the 55gal and wish the fry good luck. But I already own this 20 gal tank with cycled water and i could set it up as a tanga or malawi small tank, but i am not an expert.

So im looking for suggestions here.
1) Put the axelrodi in the 20 gal? 2m/4f. If so, i can put a new species with my 6 labeotropheus trewavasae chilumba which are very calm, and my 6 johanni which are slightly more agressive (more like intraspecfici agression 3m/3f)

2) I dont change the population in my 55 gallon, and i go with something new in the 20 gal... or i get rid of the 20 gallon and go for a 32... and then what? julidochromis? shell dwellers6 (hard to keep?) a bunch of small malawi cichlids? 1 species only of course.

any ideas welcome!

·
Registered
554 Posts
Most will probably be quite hesitant to suggest you keep any African cichlid in a 20 gallon except shellies. I don't know how hard they are to keep.

·
Registered
485 Posts
Almost all the fry will be eaten if you let the female spit in your 55g. Having said that, If the 6 cyno. axelrodi are breeding a lot in the 55-they're doing well & I would leave them. Although, in that tank-I would at least remove 2 male johannii & get 1-2 more females(& labeos are said to get too big for a 55). You could use the 20g for the cyno alexrodi fry,(so they won't get eaten) as you could not keep the adults (or any mbuna) in it or you could use it for shell dwellers.

Just my 2 cents. HTH

·
Super Moderator
40,508 Posts