Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2,596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Back a while back I bought 2 little kenyi(about 1.25"), one male (yellow with brown bars) one female (blue with black bars). They were that color when I bought them. I've since bought a couple more females and still looking for even a couple more females, if I decide to keep them.

My original male and female is now close 3" long and the female is changeing her color some. It looks like she's trying to get some yellow on her. When the male gets near her she changes back to blue. He's really starting to pay alot of attention to her now (something new too). Could it be that she is really a he, maybe a subdominate male? Does it take some males that long to get male coloration? I know they are all born blue with black stripes.

·
Registered
2,596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's what I'm thinking too. This is my first time with fish so I don't know alot but know they are all born blue with black stripes then the males turn yellow (kenyi that is). I figured males would all turn color around the same age or size though. Do dominate males color first? Are they dominate when still real small? I figured dominance was something that happened when they got sexually mature and fought for the position. Maybe that's not the case at all and some are born dominate and subdom?

·
Registered
2,596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I guess I just don't understand the dom & subdom thing and why one would show male color so early and another so much later when they were bought at the same time from the same tank.
Here's a new pic of the male with a female behind him.

A pic of the one bought at the same time that's now changing. Hope the yellow shows up. The colors were right on my computer.

Hope someone can explain it to me. I'd like to understand as much about my fish as I can.
Thanks for looking.

·
Super Moderator
40,494 Posts