Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, my name is Chris and I am new here. I'm not new to keeping African Cichlids, but I am new to keeping them beyond the "casual" hobbyist. Recently I started setting up equipment to keep and raise up some breeding stock. I prefer Aulonocara ssp but found I really have a desire to work with the Alto's as well. Something about a swimming mohawk that does it for me :D

Anyhow, I purchased a group of Alto (listed below) and was wondering if it would be OK to keep each group of three set up in a 10g with 20g capacity sponge filters. I originally intended to use this as a temp grow-out until I get my 30-40g breeder tanks in. Do you think it will be an issue keeping 3 1.5-2" Alto's in a 10g for a month or two?

Altolamprologus calvus black ink fin (1.5 inches)

Altolamprologus calvus white Chaitika (1.5 inches)

Altolamprologus compressiceps gold head (1.5 inches)

Altolamprologus calvus yellow (2 inches)

Also, for S&G here is a photo of my 14" Fly River. He lives in a 300g tank + 70g sump with some of my other Africans.

H/D Compressiceps
Aulonocara "Bloods"
Auratus
Livingstonii
Aulonocara Jacobfreibergi
Cobalt Blue

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
4,581 Posts
A month or two might work out. They grow very slowly, but can be aggressive quite young. I think it's worth a shot, assuming you'll keep up with the water quality (weekly water changes of 30% or more are often good for alto growth). However, it would be a really good idea to have a "time out" tank- a spare set up for aggressive or injured fish.

And, a question for you- why three of each? Altos take so long to grow out that it often pays to start with a larger group if you intend to breed them. I suggest at least 5 of each type once you get your larger tanks going.

·
Registered
3,054 Posts
15 altolamp juvies????