Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I've recently purchased a 72 gallon bowfront and after much back and forth and research I've decided to do an all male peacock tank. I'm brand new to African cichlids as I've only had smaller tanks in the past but finally have the chance to have a beautiful show tank! I am however unsure on which species will go well in the tank together as I have read that there are more timid and more aggressive peacocks. These are the species of peacocks my LFS has:
Strawberry Peacock
Red Peacock
Yellow Peacock
Sulphurhead Peacock
Blue Neon Peacock
Red Jacob Peacock
Electric Blue Peacock
Red Peacock
Ngara Flametail
A few questions I have:
1. Are you able to keep more than one male of the same species? I've read conflicting things.
2. I've read also you don't want any 2 fish that look too similar but I've noticed that a lot of the species are pretty similar. I've also read that you want to overstock your tank (I'm thinking around 15 in my size tank?), so how is this possible if you aren't able to have more than 1 male of the same species or any that look too similar?
3. In one video I watched he suggested buying 3-4 juveniles of each species and once they colour, pick out the best male and rehome the rest. Is this possible in a single tank with multiple species?
Any suggestions/advice would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. A picture of my setup: I currently have 7 giant danios as I am establishing the nitrogen cycle.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
40,705 Posts
Your tank is the size of a 55G (48x12 if you measure on the sides and not the middle). So 10 would be max and avoid hybrids like the strawberry as well as "jacob's" like the one on your list. They are larger and more aggressive peacocks so you would want them in a larger tank.

Yes, one red, one yellow and one blue...you are sort of out of peacocks. That is why most people include haps.