Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. Im new to holding cichlids and was wondering how many males i should have in my tank. I am mostly conserned about nitrite buildup from the bioload. I am fully commited to weekly water change, but it whould be nice to able to go on a 2 week holiday once a year, and not comming home to a dead tank. My tank is L/120cm D/41 H/55 / US numbers are 47/16/21 I would greatly appreciate any advice you guis could provide.

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
If your tank is properly cycled, it is not nitrites than you have to be concerned about, it is NITRATES. I try to keep that value below 20 ppm for my African cichlids. If you are faithfully doing water changes, you should be able to go away a couple times a year for two weeks at a time and not worry. Just make sure that the person feeding your fish does not overfeed.

As far as Peacocks go in an all male tank, I am not 100% sure. I have a breeding tank 1m, 4 f in a 90 gallon. I imagine I could bump the females up to 10 if I wanted. Someone who has kept all males might know better for a 65 gallon. Compatibility might be as important as bio-load.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If your tank is properly cycled, it is not nitrites than you have to be concerned about, it is NITRATES. I try to keep that value below 20 ppm for my African cichlids. If you are faithfully doing water changes, you should be able to go away a couple times a year for two weeks at a time and not worry. Just make sure that the person feeding your fish does not overfeed.

As far as Peacocks go in an all male tank, I am not 100% sure. I have a breeding tank 1m, 4 f in a 90 gallon. I imagine I could bump the females up to 10 if I wanted. Someone who has kept all males might know better for a 65 gallon. Compatibility might be as important as bio-load.