Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to cichlid tanks. I have 7 different lake Malawi cichlids in my 55 gallon tank.

1 Red Zebra, not sure male or female
1 Electric Yellow Lab, not sure male or female
1 Female Kenyi
1 Female Yellow Tail Acei
1 Elecrtic Blue Johanni, not sure of the sex
1 Female auratus
and an unknown peacock (forget the name sorry)

Anyways a girl from a well known fishstore in the area said that this is to many to put in a 55 gal tank, but another guy told me 12-15 which is true?

Secondly is it a bad idea to have 7 different types in the tank instead of pairing them?

·
Registered
9 Posts
i would say its a very bad idea to have that many species...especially the ones you have because they are really aggressive. You should pick a few groups and up the numbers of the groups to spread the aggression. The kenyi and auratus will b the biggest problem

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
so if i cut the auratus and Kenyi and up the other five i should be good? how bout the number of fish in the tank?

·
Registered
9 Posts
yeah i would so u would be good. go for like a 1 male to 4 female ratio. Also you might want to get rid of the peacock too. He might get harassed

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
A 55g is on the very-small side for Acei. The peacock won't work with those mbuna - red zebras and electric blues are too aggressive. Red zebras WILL hybridize with yellow labs. Not sure what you mean by EBJohanni... Are you talking about mainganos? A lot of fish have that name.

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
If you are going mixed genders with 3 species, 15 will work depending on the species. If you are going all-male with one of each 8 fish would work better.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
i actually think the EB johanni is a Melanochromis Johannii which now i find is extremely aggressive, the Electric blue was its title at the store.

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts