Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All.

I'm pretty new to plants. Just set up a 20 long and planted 5 crytps (Crypt wendtii "Green Wendtii") and 10 Sagittaria subulata (both dwarf and regualr sizes). I have one bulb, a 24" Zoo Med Ultra Sun bulb, which is a 6500k bulb. The tank has been set up for about a month, and I kick started the bacteria with API's Stress Zyme and a healthy amount of squeezins from one of my other tank's cannister filters. I planted the plants about 10 days ago, and I pretty much kept them in the middle of the tank, right under the light because I observed in another of my tanks, a 10 gallon, that the plants under the light did much better than those off in the corners.

The tank currently has two small cories and 4 serpae tetras in it. I will introduce some juvenile firemouths soon (to be paired down - eventually - to a mated pair). The light is on a timer for 12 hours per day. The substrate is crushed coral.

The plants, especially the crytps, seem to be doing really well. After a few days of being planted some of the poorer-looking leaves fell off, and lots of new leaves are coming up from the base. There is no sign of yellowing or any sign that the plants aren't thriving. The grass doesn't look as great, but doesn't look like it is dying, either.

This tank that I'm writing about is at my job, so I don't see it over the weekend. When I came in this morning, everything looks fine with the plants except there was a brown algae bloom over the weekend. This is the first sign of algae in the tank, and lots of the algae is on the leaves of the crypts.

Is there any concern about the algae? Will it hurt the plants? Should I reduce my light to less than 12 hours per day? Any other advice?

Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
678 Posts