Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found a one of these guys at a local store and picked one up. I am only familier with the gold saum, does anyone have any adults of these guys. If so could you please post pictures and give me any inside info you have on them. Right now mine is about 3inches and is not showing a lot of color yet but looks like he's got some good potentail. How do they compare to the gold saum?

Thanks,
J.D.

·
Registered
91 Posts
jgentry said:
I found a one of these guys at a local store and picked one up. I am only familier with the gold saum, does anyone have any adults of these guys. If so could you please post pictures and give me any inside info you have on them. Right now mine is about 3inches and is not showing a lot of color yet but looks like he's got some good potentail. How do they compare to the gold saum?

Thanks,
J.D.
I'm new to owning these fish but i can honestly say they are the nicest fish i've ever owned

I always thought the gold saum was the same species & the blue acara was the one that was mistaken for the gt but im not sure??

Heres a couple of pics of my pair - male 7" female 5"

A couple of observations of my fish -

They are mildly aggressive towards each other, but apparently this is also how they act when in breeding mode so maybe getting some babies soon

They are fussy eaters when it comes to dry foods but if it wiggles they dont thjink twice, all live food is welcome, i've tried hikari gold, predator & staple but it seems to be the gold that they prefer and they chew and spit out the others.

Anyways pls share pics or advice cos were all learning :thumb:

·
Registered
1,573 Posts
Aquidens Rivulatus and Aquidens sp. Gold saum are two different species . Gold saums are the fish commonly sold as Green Terror . there's been a few debates as to whether gold and silver saums should even be called GTs .